11 JUIN 2021

TRACKLISTING: A1. Placebo - S.U.S. A2. Solis Lacus - Utopic Cities A3. Open Sky Unit - Open Sky A4. Brussels Art Quintet - Vas-y Voir B1. Koen De Bruyne - Pathetic Dreams B2. Raphaël - ArchangeloC1. Philip Catherine - Memphis Talk C2. Jacques & Micheline Pelzer Quartet - Face Reality C3. The Kenny Clarke-Francy Boland Big Band - Sakara D1. Marc Moulin - Tohubohu pt. I D2. Babs Robert - Pro Forma I D3. Lou MacConnell - Naima


INFO: On June 11th, independent groove label Sdban Records will release Utopic Cities: Progressive Jazz in Belgium 1968-1979 featuring twelve essential compositions from a highly creative period in Belgian jazz. The release follows Sdban's critically acclaimed Let's Get Swinging: Modern Jazz in Belgium 1950-1970, released back in 2017.Utopic Cities is an eclectic selection of forward-thinking jazz from the Belgian underground, including the left-field fusion of Marc Moulin's Placebo, Koen De Bruyne and Solis Lacus; the intense post-bop of Jacques Pelzer and Lou MacConnell; the cutting edge soul jazz of Philip Catherine and Open Sky Unit or the otherworldly avant-garde of Babs Robert and the Brussels Art Quintet. Recorded in the aftermath of the revolutionary year 1968, this music is the fruit of a highly creative momentum in Belgian jazz history that produced a unique sound which distinguishes itself from its American source of inspiration by an indefinable characteristic that can be hardly better described than 'Belgian'.

lp 29,00